NANETS produces a weekly publication, Weekly Net Connection. It contains information on recent NET disease research, guidelines and resources. It also highlights NET continuing medical education (CME) programming, medical society developments, member accomplishments and news from other NET organizations. Have news to share? Contact us! Net News is a benefit of membership in NANETS. Not a member? Subscribe now!

As part of NANETS efforts to develop new relationships that will aid the growth of our research and education initiatives and other donor-funded educational projects, a more professional image consistent with our mission was needed.In this vein, a simplified, clean and more “medical” professional brand image was created. In October, the board charged the executive committee with the final decision, and we are pleased to introduce the new logo and images that will roll out in 2020. Our new "brand" will go a long way to engage and involve current and new stakeholders.Here's a look back at some of our original designs and logos and a nod forward to where we are today.

From the President

Dear Colleagues,

The New Year brings with it new strategies for achieving our goals and a brand new look. I am pleased to unveil our updated logo and images for the website and our virtual communications, designed to take us into the second decade of the 2000s.

This special eNewsletter edition gives you a glimpse into the genesis and evolution of NANETS, with changes to its brand identity and themes serving as symbols of our continued growth and advancement as the premier neuroendocrine research and education society in North America.

It is not just our look that is new. Read about the new pNETS Guidelines published earlier this month in Pancreas, thanks to the hard work and dedication of our distinguished multidisciplinary panel of NET experts.

NANETS Board of Trustees has also initiated a new committee structure and is considering a number of new initiatives as a result of the engagement of our members. NANETS bylaws have been amended to support the addition of a new board seat and celebrates the election of Arvind Dasari, MD to fill the new seat.

High grade and metastatic pheo/para guidelines (mPPGL) panels met via video and conference call throughout the year and convened in person for a two-day meeting prior to Symposium. Each panelist presented the latest research and developments for review and discussion. mPPGL is completing an internal survey to gauge consensus among the group. Both panels are on track to reach consensus and to publish guidelines in 2020. Chairs and panelists include:

Pheo/Para Workgroup
The co-chairs are: Lauren Fishbein, MD, Ph.D., University of Colorado School of Medicine; Jaydira Del Rivero, MD, National Cancer Institute, National Institutes of Health; and Camilo Jimenez, MD, University of Texas, MD Anderson Cancer Center. Panelists include: Sylvia Asa, MD, Ph.D., University Health Network, Toronto; Debbie Cohen, MBBCH, University of Pennsylvania; Patricia Dahia, MD, Ph.D., University of Texas Health, San Antonio; Tobias Else, MD, University of Michigan; Douglas L. Fraker, MD, University of Pennsylvania; Karyn Goodman, MD, MS, University of Colorado, Denver; Thomas Hope, MD, University of California, San Francisco; James Howe, MD, University of Iowa, Carver College of Medicine; Pamela L. Kunz, MD, Stanford University Medical Center; Kimberly Perez, MD, Dana Farber Cancer Institute; Nancy Perrier, MD, FACS, University of Texas, MD Anderson Cancer Center; Daniel A. Pryma, MD, University of Pennsylvania, Perelman School of Medicine; Mabel Ryder, MD, Mayo Clinic; and Michael Soulen, MD, Abramson Cancer Center, University of Pennsylvania.

High Grade NEN Workgroup
The chair is Jennifer Eads, MD,
University of Pennsylvania. Panelists include: Timothy Asmis, MD, FRCPC, University of Ottawa; Andrew Bellizzi, MD, University of Iowa, Carver College of Medicine; Emily Bergsland, MD, University of California, San Francisco; Jennifer Chan, MD, MPH, Dana Farber Cancer Institute; Arvind Dasari, MD, MD Anderson Cancer Center; Ghassan El Haddad, MD, Moffitt Cancer Center; Michael Frumovitz, MD, MD Anderson Cancer Center; Thorvardur R. Halfdanarson, MD, Mayo Clinic; Joshua E. Meyer, MD, Fox Chase Cancer Center; Erik S. Mittra, MD, Ph.D., Oregon Health Sciences University; Sten Myrehaug, MD, FRCPC, University of Toronto; Eric Nakakura, MD, Ph.D., University of California, San Francisco; Nitya Raj, MD, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center; Heloisa Soares, MD, University of New Mexico; Laura Tang, MD, DO, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center; Brian Untch, MD, FACS, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center; and Neena Vijayvergia, MD, Fox Chase Cancer Center.